DWI Alcohol Attorney in Manchester, NH
Free, Same-Day Consultations Offered for Potential Clients
Getting arrested for drunk driving is a serious offense in New Hampshire. A conviction can lead to costly fines, the loss of your driving privileges, and even a lengthy jail sentence or probation period. In order to avoid these harsh criminal penalties, you need to hire an experienced DWI defense lawyer at Attorney Joseph Kelly Levasseur, PLLC to fight for the best possible outcome in your case.
I, Attorney Joseph Kelly Levasseur, have been providing client-focused legal representation to individuals who have been charged with driving while intoxicated by alcohol. I have more than 17 years of experience offering effective and affordable legal solutions to clients facing difficult situations. For a first-time DWI, I charge a flat fee of $1,000 to defend your rights and fight for your freedom.
Free consultations are available. Call (603) 838-3512 today for an appointment.
Blood Alcohol Content
Like most states, New Hampshire uses blood alcohol content (BAC) to determine that a driver is operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol. Generally, a breath test is given at the time of the stop, but blood testing can also be performed. You can be charged with DWI for operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08% or higher.
The .08 percent legal limit is for most drivers who are over the age of 21. The BAC is lower for certain drivers. For example, a commercial driver can be charged with DWI for a blood alcohol content of .04 percent or more. Individuals who are under the age of 21 can be charged with driving while intoxicated for a BAC of .02 percent or higher on chemical tests.
Drivers may face charges for aggravated DWI in certain circumstances. When certain aggravating conditions are present along with an increased BAC, you could be charged with aggravated DWI and face more severe penalties than a typical DWI charge.
Aggravated DWI charges may result when the driver:
Has a BAC of .16% or higher
Was traveling at 30 mph or more above the posted speed limit
Has a passenger that is under 16 years of age
Attempts to evade law enforcement
Causes a collision that results in serious injury
A conviction for aggravated DWI carries harsher penalties. You could be facing up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. When the offense resulted in an accident that caused serious bodily injury, you may be charged with a class B misdemeanor, which carries penalties that include up to seven years in jail, a fine of up to $4,000, and a license suspension of 18 months to two years.
Penalties for DWI Convictions
The penalties for a DWI alcohol conviction vary, depending on if the incident was the first time DWI or there were subsequent offenses. If convicted of a second or subsequent offense, you may be sentenced to time in jail. All DWIs result in fines and a driver’s license suspension. The third DWI will result in permanent license revocation.
At Attorney Joseph Kelly Levasseur, PLLC, I understand the difficulty of trying to work and carry out family responsibilities without a driver’s license. I provide informative and strategic legal representation to defend the rights of my clients and help minimize the impact of a DWI on their lives.
Call (603) 838-3512 today to request a free consultation.
Over 15 Years of Legal Experience
Readily Available & Communicative
Passionate About Clients Success
A Strategic Approach to Every Case