Free, Same-Day Consultations Offered For DWI Clients
Getting arrested for drunk driving is a serious offense in New Hampshire. A conviction can lead to costly fines, the loss of your driving privileges and even a lengthy jail sentence or probation period. In order to avoid these harsh criminal penalties, you need to hire me, the experienced DWI defense lawyer at Joseph Kelly Levasseur, Esquire, to fight for the best possible outcome in your case.
I am Joseph Kelly Levasseur, and I have been providing client-focused legal representation to individuals who have been charged with driving while intoxicated by alcohol (DWI). For more than 20 years, I have offered effective and affordable legal solutions to clients facing difficult situations. For a first-time DWI, I charge a flat fee of $1,000 to defend your rights and fight for your freedom.
Free consultations are available. Call me at (603) 622-7575 or contact me online today for an appointment.
Blood Alcohol Content Guidelines For DWI Charges
Like most states, New Hampshire uses blood alcohol content (BAC) to determine whether a driver is operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol. Generally, a breath test is given at the time of the stop, but blood testing can also be performed. You can be charged with DWI for operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08% or higher.
The .08% legal limit is for most drivers who are over the age of 21. The BAC is lower for certain drivers. For example, a commercial driver can be charged with DWI for a blood alcohol content of .04% or more. Individuals who are under the age of 21 can be charged with DWI for a BAC of .02% or higher on chemical tests.
What Constitutes an Aggravated DWI?
Drivers may face charges for aggravated DWI in certain circumstances. When certain aggravating conditions are present along with an increased BAC, you could be charged with aggravated DWI and face more severe penalties than a typical DWI charge.
Aggravated DWI charges may result when the driver:
- Has a BAC of .16% or higher
- Was traveling at 30 mph or more above the posted speed limit
- Has a passenger who is under 16 years of age
- Attempts to evade law enforcement
- Causes a collision that results in serious injury
A conviction for aggravated DWI carries harsher penalties. You could be facing up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. When the offense resulted in an accident that caused serious bodily injury, you may be charged with a class B misdemeanor, which carries penalties that include up to seven years in jail, a fine of up to $4,000 and a license suspension of 18 months to two years.
Penalties For DWI Convictions
The penalties for a DWI alcohol conviction vary, depending on whether the incident was a first-time DWI arrest or a subsequent offense. If convicted of a second or subsequent offense, you may be sentenced to time in jail. All DWI convictions result in fines and a driver’s license suspension. The third DWI conviction will result in permanent license revocation.
At Joseph Kelly Levasseur, Esquire, I understand the difficulty of trying to work and carry out family responsibilities without a driver’s license. I provide informative and strategic legal representation to defend the rights of my clients and help minimize the impact of a DWI on their lives.