Facing DWI Charges? Get Experienced Legal Representation.
A driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction in Manchester, New Hampshire, can have a significant impact on your life, including possible jail time, fines and the loss of your driving privileges. In order to avoid serious criminal penalties or even get your entire case dismissed, you need an experienced criminal defense lawyer from Attorney Joseph Kelly Levasseur, PLLC, to help you get the best possible outcome in your case.
I am Joseph Kelly Levasseur, and I can help you navigate the legal process. I won’t treat you like another case number. Instead, I take on a selective number of cases at a time to provide clients with the skilled and dedicated legal defense they deserve.
Specifics On DWI Charges In New Hampshire
In New Hampshire, an individual is considered to be driving while intoxicated with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher or while driving under the influence (DUI) of natural or synthetic substances that impair your ability to operate a motor vehicle. The penalties for DWI depend on whether this was the first, second, third or subsequent offense.
Possible penalties for DWI in New Hampshire include:
- First offense: No jail time, fines of $500 to $1,200 and a driver’s license suspension of up to two years
- Second offense: Seventeen days to one year in jail, fines of $750 to $2,000 and a three-year driver’s license suspension
- Third offense: Jail time of 180 days to one year, fines of $750 to $2,000 and a lifetime driver’s license revocation
In certain situations, aggravating factors may exist that will result in increased criminal penalties, even for a first-time offense. You could be facing an aggravated DWI charge if the accident involved serious bodily injury, driving at 30 miles per hour or more above the speed limit, an attempt to elude law enforcement, driving with a passenger under the age of 16 or a BAC of .16% or higher.
Alternatives To A Jail Sentence
In some cases, the judge may choose to suspend part of the jail sentence in favor of two years of probation. Before receiving a suspended sentence, you must serve five days for a second DUI, or 14 days if there is a prior within the past two years. For a third offense, you must serve 30 days in jail. After serving the minimum required time, you will be on probation.
While on probation, you will most likely have to comply with a requirement for an alcohol and drug evaluation. In addition, you may have to participate in an Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP), which includes substance abuse treatment, alcohol and drug monitoring, and random drug testing. I can advise you about how the law applies to your case.
Driver’s License Penalties
In New Hampshire, you could face penalties for failing a chemical test, refusing to submit to a chemical test or being convicted for DWI. The length of time that the DMV may suspend your license varies, depending on the reason for the suspension and whether this is your first offense or you have prior convictions for DWI. In some cases, it may be possible to have your license reinstated earlier if you complete a substance abuse evaluation and an IDCMP. If you were stopped for DUI and either failed a chemical test, refused to take a test or were charged with DWI, the best thing you can do is reach out to me so that I can help you maintain your driving privileges.
Schedule A Free Consultation Today
With more than 20 years of legal experience, I understand what it takes to help you either get a not-guilty verdict, get your entire case dismissed altogether or avoid serious penalties like jail time by reducing your charges/penalties. Do not hesitate to let me protect your rights, reputation and freedom throughout the legal process.